Jnana Yoga in the Aaiyyanist Tradition

The Aaiyyanists are the foremost experts in Jnana Yoga. What does this mean?

There are several different types of Yoga in the Hindu tradition. Karma Yoga which is the path of right action (doing good deeds etc… as a way to break the Karmic cycle and liberate yourself from the endless cycle of death and rebirth). Bhakti Yoga which is the path of devotion to a specific god such as Murugan, Shiva, Krishna, Vishnu, Ganesh etc… and in so worshipping the God you can attain a divine joyous liberation that transcends yourself as you merge into the higher being and become the living embodiment of Godhead. Dravidian Aaiyyanists do follow all these Yogic paths, but we are most famous for specialising in various forms of Jnana Yoga.

Jnana Yoga to the lay person is the Yoga of knowledge. In traditional Hinduism there are certain actions or attributes that determine the Jnana Yogic. For example, Viraga or Dispassionate indifference to worldly things – to attain Oneness. Viveka (Discrimination) – the ability to discriminate the difference between the true reality and the illusionary one we see before us… and also the ultimate ability to see the eternal rather than the temporary nature of the Universe we reside in.

The 6 virtues one must master to focus the mind and spirit in Jnana Yoga are called: Satsampat and include: Samadhana (concentration), Shraddha (faith in the truth of Dravidian Aaiyyanist wisdom), Titiksha (endurance of the mind and spirit, especially resilience to extreme conditions and sensory input). Uparati (renunciation of worldly things that are not linked to the spiritual path), Dama (control of one’s will and one’s bodily functions) and Shama (calmness/peacefulness of the mind). To achieve this, traditional Hindus perform three practises: Sravana (hearing), Manana (thinking) and Nididhyasana (meditation)

However, this is just touching the surface of what Dravidian Aaiyyanists mean by the Yoga of Knowledge.

In Dravidian Aaiyyanism there are some simple but powerful tools one can employ to achieve all the aspects above. In Aaiyyanism, one must master all the aspects noted above, but a great tool to aid the learner/practitioner is to memorise and draw the sacred symbols required to open positive Lokas. Let me re-iterate this for it is vitally important. In order to absolutely focus the mind and spirit young Aaiyyanists are taught the sacred scripts required to open positive Lokas (dimensions). Not only does this focus the mind and therefore fulfil all the obligations of Samadhana (concentration), Dama (control), Shama (calmness) – but by opening up positive Lokas one also achieves (by default) the attributes of Shraddha (faith) and Uparati (renunciation). The final aspect Titiksha – endurance of the mind and spirit to endure extremes of conditions (heat/cold, light/dark, positive and negative), will come naturally as you become resonantly attuned to the positive Lokas you will open when you inscribe the sacred symbols. This is inevitable. If you also couple this with Dravidian meditation techniques and the will to inscribe the symbols on a daily basis… within a few years of training you will begin to see the world as a Jnana Yogic. You will be able to discriminate between the true reality and the imagined one and also have an indifference to worldly aspects as you begin to get closer to the ultimate One: Brahman.

When you train to be an Aaiyyanist, you will be shown the sacred symbols that can open positive Lokas into your life. If you draw them on a continuous basis and meditate on them and focus, you will begin to become attuned to the positive dimensions and resonant energy that exists in our plane. Not only will this aid you in your temporal life, but it will help you achieve the liberation to Oneness that you were destined to complete.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s